Author Topic: HID ballast & lamp questions  (Read 1243 times)
LampLover

View Posts
View Gallery
120/240VAC @ 60HZ

GoL PeterYachymczyk UCYBAif_ag4v8nIcCU3VAmag
HID ballast & lamp questions « on: December 04, 2017, 03:21:24 AM » Author: LampLover
I have a 100Watt metal halide ballast (ANSI Code M90 ballast is a Philips/Advance 71A5380) and fixture that I am now using as my room light (I have it in an old FloodPak housing). I have a nice Philips MasterColor CDM 100W/940 Med ED17 CL ALTO (MHC100/U/M/4K ALTO 281352)

I have a few questions about the ballast and capacitor

1. The original Philips/Advance capacitor was cracked so I bought a new one on eBay (12UF/400Volts) I have not used the fixture in awhile and for the first few nights the lamp almost went out every time a big electrical load was turned on/started. (Mostly the refrigerator) but tonight it is fine so did the capacitor just need a time to recharge? and is the capacitor in series with the lamp? I'm not big on electrical diagrams

2. I have been wondering this (I really don't know the answer) ever since I got my first HID fixture
Why does a hot HID lamp have to cool down before being able to be re-lit and re-strike an arc and does keeping a hot lamp powered hurt the fixture components (Ignitor, Ballast, and Lamp)

The ballast is from my apartment complex (They went LED) and my area looses power occasionally or has a brownout long enough to have the lamp extinguish. So the ballast kit I have has a lot of hard hours on it.

LED Free Zone!
All For HID, magnetic rapid-start Preheat & old-school electronic Only (no instant start F17T8 & F32T8 allowed)

Medved

View Posts
View Gallery

Re: HID ballast & lamp questions « Reply #1 on: December 04, 2017, 07:05:44 AM » Author: Medved