Author Topic: Does Preheat Ballast Use More Electricity?  (Read 391 times)
axel_chai

View Posts
View Gallery

I love preheat fluorescent lights!

UCcVMP3Be8pEcXncd1Upal2A
Does Preheat Ballast Use More Electricity? « on: December 26, 2023, 11:06:55 PM » Author: axel_chai
So, I have an 18W fluorescent fixture with non-Philips preheat ballast that is labeled for 18W fluorescent lamp. But, when I tested it with watt meter, it says that it uses 39,7 watt. So my question is, does preheat ballast use more electricity than it's rated or because I'm using a non-Philips ballast that maybe it's for 40W tubes but labeled 18W and I'm over-ballasting it?

I love old lamps! I will try collecting a lot of older lamps, especially LPS and fluorescent! And I will not do weird experiments because I'm not an expert!

Laurens

View Posts
View Gallery

Re: Does Preheat Ballast Use More Electricity? « Reply #1 on: December 27, 2023, 06:43:51 AM » Author: Laurens
Inductive ballasts are relatively inefficient. It indeed likely uses about 40 watts. They can, however, specify a lower consumption. This has to do with the power factor. Back in the day, the standard analog electricity meter with the slowly spinning disk, did not pick up the consumption by inductive loads like old school ballasts, so you didn't pay for the power that you kind-of are usung. They would only 'see' the 18w of resistive load the lamp takes.