Author Topic: Old cast iron fluorescent table lamp - electrical guts  (Read 1726 times)
toadbeener

View Posts
View Gallery

Old cast iron fluorescent table lamp - electrical guts « on: November 08, 2020, 09:46:24 PM » Author: toadbeener
Hello, I'm new to LG.  I'm trying to figure out what I have.  I like to restore older pieces - usually wood, but I recently obtained a cast iron, art-deco-ish, fluorescent (single 18") table lamp. 

My preference would be for it to be able to work as-is.  I don't understand the fluorescent circuit, I can get 120V at the tombstones, but no voltage across the ballast.

The ballast is a GE 58G670 Series Ballast for 15 Watt Fluorescent Lamp.  The switch is a Edwin Gaynor/Gaynor-Andrews Cat 8847.

My question is this:  Are these old components worth the attempt at salvaging, or would you recommend replacing with modern technology?

Pictures of lamp, ballast and switch included.

If I've posted in the wrong place, please let me know.

Thank you.
Tommy
Patrick
Webmaster

View Posts
View Gallery

LightingGallery
Re: Old cast iron fluorescent table lamp - electrical guts « Reply #1 on: November 08, 2020, 10:15:06 PM » Author: Patrick
The standard preheat fluorescent wiring diagram applies here.

The one difference being that this is manual preheat (press and hold to start).  So your switch serves as the starter in the circuit, and also a switch for the supply line.  That's why you'll have four wires to the switch, the two for the starter, and the two for mains power.