Author Topic: Hard to service lights  (Read 2142 times)
BlitzBiker2001

View Posts
View Gallery

BlitzBiker2001
Hard to service lights « on: March 12, 2021, 11:00:13 PM » Author: BlitzBiker2001
I’m an electrician, and a good chunk of what we do is converting fluorescent and HID fixtures to LED, but we have come to a road block on one particular job. At a local school, there are 4’ T8 fluorescent wrap around fixtures above the stage (about 70’ above the stage), and there are only a handful of bulbs that are still working after 16 years. We would normally get a boom lift for a job like this, but there are still several problems, the curtain and projection screen equipment would need to be lowered to the ground and removed to gain access, but also the construction of the stage is not physically strong enough to support the weight of a boom lift with two men in it. I personally believe the light were put in before the stage was built. Has anyone else had to deal with a series of problems like this, if so any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Exit signs, emergency lights, fluorescent tubes, NEMA heads.

M250R201SA

View Posts
View Gallery

JGriff021985 JMG717
Re: Hard to service lights « Reply #1 on: March 14, 2021, 07:50:42 PM » Author: M250R201SA
Can you get pics of the site, and the problems you’ve been having.  It’s hard to imagine, and there may be a way to R&R them without putting a boom lift on the stage

"I know a thing or two about a thing or two...  I sure do."

lights*plus

View Posts
View Gallery

George Liv Photo

GoL george.liv.37 UC_OfF2pa6aOcXLAut16jw9g
Re: Hard to service lights « Reply #2 on: March 29, 2021, 09:49:49 PM » Author: lights*plus
Construct a temp scaffold.
Rommie
Administrator

View Posts
View Gallery

Andromeda Ascendant

Re: Hard to service lights « Reply #3 on: March 30, 2021, 12:31:19 PM » Author: Rommie
Again, would the stage support the weight  ???

Ria (aka Rommie) in Aberdeen