Author Topic: Looking for SOX Fixtures for Teaching Demos  (Read 1321 times)
APPLYlab

View Posts
View Gallery

Looking for SOX Fixtures for Teaching Demos « on: April 04, 2022, 09:36:05 AM » Author: APPLYlab
Quick backstory: I'm a Psychology professor at the University of Toronto, and I'm trying to recreate a low-pressure sodium lamp demo for my students, because the monochromatic light really gets them to understand colour perception in ways that nothing else really can.

So, I'm looking for SOX fixtures that I can (hopefully) plug in to wall power in my lab or lecture hall, and that's become harder than I hoped because, as the community here probably knows better than I do, they've been getting replaced with LEDs. So I thought I'd ask around here - I'm more than happy to purchase fixtures and have my university reimburse me.

From prior experience, it takes a fair bit of power to do this demo for a large lecture hall - in a perfect world, I'd replicate the custom fixtures my doctoral advisor had (which were dual 90W; we used 3 for a 300-student lecture hall), but I'm not sure how feasible that is these days.
AgentHalogen_87

View Posts
View Gallery

Long Live SOX!

Re: Looking for SOX Fixtures for Teaching Demos « Reply #1 on: April 04, 2022, 05:28:52 PM » Author: AgentHalogen_87