Author Topic: what's wrong with philips alto bulbs?  (Read 7207 times)
slipperypete

View Posts
View Gallery

what's wrong with philips alto bulbs? « on: January 21, 2012, 01:47:25 AM » Author: slipperypete
I hear a lot of people bad mouthing Philips Alto bulbs saying they damage ballasts, and that they don't last long.  To be honest those are the only bulbs they use at my work, and we have never really experienced these problems.   I work as a diesel mechanic in a 24 hour shop, so the lights are always on.  I am not trying to step on anyone's toes here, nor am I trying to stir up a dust storm.  I am just curious.  Can someone clue me in?

Bulb bans = Fascism

RyanF40T12

View Posts
View Gallery

Re: what's wrong with philips alto bulbs? « Reply #1 on: January 21, 2012, 02:49:28 AM » Author: RyanF40T12
When it comes to Philips- I've found issues with early failure with the compact fluorescents which often take out the ballasts in the process, same with the GE compact fluorescents, and have had very bad experience with the Alto F32T12s with them going EOL way too early as well as taking out ballasts too.  It's kind of hit or miss with the F32T12s though.  The earlier generation of F32T12s seemed to do slightly better then the newer 700 series.  Those are the absolute worse!  I DO have praise for Philips HPS lamps as well as incandescent bulbs.  I had a few HPS bulbs in some of the outside fixtures at a couple church buildings go almost 20 years (on photocell) before they killed the ballast as they did their EoL fanatics.  But some just finally died without killing the ballast. 

The more you hate the LED movement, the stronger it becomes.

Medved

View Posts
View Gallery

Re: what's wrong with philips alto bulbs? « Reply #2 on: January 21, 2012, 03:26:08 AM » Author: Medved