Author Topic: Hello all! Phillips Mini-SOX Wallpacks from the 1980's  (Read 3177 times)
MikeT1982

View Posts
View Gallery

Hello all! Phillips Mini-SOX Wallpacks from the 1980's « on: November 08, 2011, 07:55:48 PM » Author: MikeT1982
Hey guys, first off i am new here!  I am glad i found such a place for people like us interested in old and new lighting fixtures and such! I am an electronics hobbyist and have always been into lighting, mostly gaseous discharge lamps of all sorts most noteably HID's!  I also love fluorescent,and am particularly fascinated with Low Pressure sodium's, although i have never owned one yet! When i was younger i purchased a mercury vapor, both clear and frosted which i let go, and finally my favorite, a 35 watt Electripak High Pressure Sodium which i have kept in the family, giving to my dad for his house and when he moved taking back and this past summer i installed the 19 year old light fixture on my house, albeit with a new bulb a Sylvania Lumalux bulb which is much "creamier" in color than the stock generic that ran for 18 years and bit the dust!  Annnnnyways....before i bought the HPS wallpack when i was a kid i wanted a LPS wallpack...i had magazines with one particularly in it that i loved...the Phillips Mini-SOX 18 watt LPS wallpack!  I found out it was darn near $300 and there was no way i could afford as a teen so i went with the Electripak HPS for $75 as reccomended for a budding teenage experimenter by the kind older man at the local electrical store! (around 1992) What's the chance of finding a brand new one of these anywhere? Have they been discontinued for a long time?  I am unable to find pretty much anything on them, and figured this would be the place...other than one article on here (how i found this forum)with a fella who converted a Lights of America pack to a replica which i think is very neat!! Thanks a ton ahead of time guys,

Mike T  :)
« Last Edit: November 08, 2011, 08:03:45 PM by MikeT1982 » Logged
funkybulb