Author Topic: Hardwiring Kitchen Cabinet Lights  (Read 1961 times)
Patrick
Webmaster

View Posts
View Gallery

LightingGallery
Hardwiring Kitchen Cabinet Lights « on: April 19, 2013, 11:38:38 PM » Author: Patrick
Currently I have under cabinet lights that plug-in to the counter-top receptacles.  In the future, I may wish to hardwire these fixtures in a similar configuration.  Normally, you'd install one 24" fixture rather than two 12" fixtures, but I already own these.  Is it code-compliant to hardwire fixtures with factory supplied cords?  The UL stickers on these state that they are listed as "Portable Luminaires", but they're no different than the direct wire models.  Also, I'd prefer to only drill a single hole through the wall.  Can I power the second fixture from the first by making use of the knockouts on the sides, and if so, what are the appropriate connectors to use?  Should the knockouts on the two fixtures be attached with a connector, and if so, what type?  I'm new to permanent wiring.

Patrick C., Administrator
Lighting-Gallery.net

funkybulb

View Posts
View Gallery

Re: Hardwiring Kitchen Cabinet Lights « Reply #1 on: April 20, 2013, 12:17:07 AM » Author: funkybulb
this what I would do, get a Step drill half Inch so you can install a nipple and two lock nuts to join
both fixture together. from there do the same on the back side on far right the fixture. and drill a hole in the wall and run a romex from the outlet up the wall. and connect up your lights inside the ballast channel.
 it would make it appear neater with out the zip cord hanging all over.

No LED gadgets, spins too slowly.  Gotta  love preheat and MV. let the lights keep my meter spinning.

Patrick
Webmaster

View Posts
View Gallery

LightingGallery
Re: Hardwiring Kitchen Cabinet Lights « Reply #2 on: April 20, 2013, 05:08:28 PM » Author: Patrick