Author Topic: Sulfur and LEP lighting even on the Radar?  (Read 1272 times)
HomeBrewLamps
Administrator

View Posts
View Gallery

SodiumVapor 105843202020668111118 UCpGClK_9OH8N4QkD1fp-jNw majorpayne1226 187567902@N04/
Sulfur and LEP lighting even on the Radar? « on: August 31, 2017, 12:45:10 AM » Author: HomeBrewLamps
So i know of the Sulfur lighting and LEP lighting that people have talked about in the past... but are these technologies even able to take off? or is LED pretty well beaten them down?

~Owen

:colorbulb: Scavenger, Urban Explorer, Lighting Enthusiast and Creator of homebrewlamps 8) :colorbulb:

View Posts
View Gallery

Tha SOX MADMANNN

Re: Sulfur and LEP lighting even on the Radar? « Reply #1 on: August 31, 2017, 02:50:26 PM » Author: 589
I'm no expert, but LEP looks like it could have some impact on the market as there a few manufacturers out there. With how prevalent and cheap LED is, it's anybody's guess how successful it will be.

Personally I like induction as an LED alternative as the glare is much lower. However, it seems that a buzzword for many LED (and LEP for that matter) manufacturers is "optical efficiency". They talk about how much more "efficient" they are from optical precision and such. Thats all fine and dandy if you know what you are doing during design and install, but many installs I've seen in the wild are done improperly and very unevenly lit because of this. For example, when georgia power replaced all the HPS DG cobraheads in my parents neighborhood, they did a 1:1 replacement. The problem with that is the new cooper verdeons are full cutoff and have a very limited illumination area vs. "inefficient" DG cobraheads and now there is as many dark spots as light. They would've needed to double the density to get the same coverage. I personally think some "optical inefficiency" covers some laziness on the part of the engineers, not to mention reduces glare.

:lps:

AngryHorse

View Posts
View Gallery

Rich