Author Topic: Powering a 65W Philips TL-M from 230V mains  (Read 2085 times)
lasagafield

View Posts
View Gallery

Powering a 65W Philips TL-M from 230V mains « on: June 01, 2018, 02:17:00 PM » Author: lasagafield
Hello everyone.
I wasn't sure if this thread was more of a lamp or fitting thread so i've put it here.
Please shift it if i'm wrong.
I recently got ahold of a couple of these:
http://www.lighting.philips.com/main/prof/conventional-lamps-and-tubes/fluorescent-lamps-and-starters/tl/tl-m-rapid-start-super-80/928031008471_EU/product
I have a 65W fitting but I have never worked with these tubes before.
If I where to just bung them in a bog standard 230v fitting what would happen?
Would they run/burn out/how long for?
Could I not just make a transformer to drop the voltage in half on the ballast side?
Can you get rapid start gear in the UK etc.

There's a reason the sun's free.

dor123

View Posts
View Gallery

Other loves are computers, office equipment, A/Cs

Re: Powering a 65W Philips TL-M from 230V mains « Reply #1 on: June 01, 2018, 02:47:26 PM » Author: dor123
Try to use SRS or quick-start gear.

I"m don't speak English well, and rely on online translating to write in this site.
Please forgive me if my choice of my words looks like offensive, while that isn't my intention.

I only working with the international date format (dd.mm.yyyy).

I lives in Israel, which is a 220-240V, 50hz country.

lasagafield

View Posts
View Gallery

Re: Powering a 65W Philips TL-M from 230V mains « Reply #2 on: June 01, 2018, 03:32:11 PM » Author: lasagafield
I'll keep an eye out but it's a lot harder finding 230v fluorescent gear that isn't just your bog standard preheat.

Beta 5

View Posts
View Gallery

Re: Powering a 65W Philips TL-M from 230V mains « Reply #3 on: June 01, 2018, 04:56:57 PM » Author: Beta 5
Aren't they just normal T12's with an earth strip?
If so, they should work fine in normal switch start gear.

Fluorescent Forever :lfl:

lasagafield

View Posts