Author Topic: Repairing early-80's model Norelco Security Light  (Read 3287 times)
frfolk
Repairing early-80's model Norelco Security Light « on: September 09, 2013, 04:27:06 PM » Author: frfolk
Hello,

This is the first time I've posted in this forum, and will confess right off the bat that I'm no expert or even a novice for that matter when it comes to lighting, especially in hobby terms.  It's clear that there is a great depth of knowledge here, so I hope that you wont mind me fielding this question. 

We recently bought a new (to us) house.  I've been slowly making improvements and repairing things on the outside and I've come to a dilemma.  Behind our garage we have a Norelco Security Light that as far as I can tell is identical to the one from this post:

http://www.lighting-gallery.net/gallery/displayimage.php?album=2308&pos=35&pid=63347

The light is in pretty good condition, despite being 30 years old or so with the exception of the ballast and plug for the photo control.  Are there suitable replacements for these?  I suppose I could just go buy a new light, but I kind of enjoy bringing things like this back from the dead if it's feasible.  I do like the way these mercury vapor lights look and sound and I'd really prefer to restore it, but I'll trust your judgement if you think I might be wasting my time.  I've attached a couple photos below of the components in question.

Thank You!
-Ryan Folk
Osceola, IN

jrmcferren

View Posts
View Gallery

Re: Repairing early-80's model Norelco Security Light « Reply #1 on: September 09, 2013, 04:42:57 PM » Author: jrmcferren