Author Topic: Do you think of the temperature of LED lamp?  (Read 1070 times)
bulb_tester2009

View Posts
View Gallery

Resolutely crack down on inferior LED lighting!!

GoL
Do you think of the temperature of LED lamp? « on: January 21, 2022, 04:27:59 AM » Author: bulb_tester2009
Once when I was living in my hometown, I found the IKEA bulb (5W827) in the table lamp heated very badly after half an hour of electricity, about 60 to 70 degrees Celsius. This type of bulb is made of plastic-coated aluminum shell. It seems that most plastic-coated aluminum shell LED are very hot, such as the opple 8W/860 LED bulb in my suspension lamp and the Philips 3.5W/865 LED bulb in my downlight.But spot lamps doesn't heat so seriously.
« Last Edit: January 21, 2022, 04:33:09 AM by bulb_tester2009 » Logged

I've been collecting light bulbs since I was 2 years old and I've been collecting them ever since.
 :hps::hps::hps:
由于我来自中国,所以英语不精通,大部分内容都是翻译的,所以可能不通顺,请大家谅解
Note:
Bulb base in China:E12(CES) E14(SES) B22d(BC) E27(ES) E40(GES)

dor123

View Posts
View Gallery

Other loves are computers, office equipment, A/Cs

Re: Do you think of the temperature of LED lamp? « Reply #1 on: January 21, 2022, 04:45:48 AM » Author: dor123
The heat rise upward, so when the LED lamp is at base-up, the LED heat is dissipates through the heatsink. At base-down, there is no dissipation of the heat of the LED, and it will fail shortly.
This is why I recommends to run CFLs with the base-down: The heat of the tube will rise upwards so the ballast won't be overheated. LED filament lamps are the same.

I"m don't speak English well, and rely on online translating to write in this site.
Please forgive me if my choice of my words looks like offensive, while that isn't my intention.

I only working with the international date format (dd.mm.yyyy).

I lives in Israel, which is a 220-240V, 50hz country.

bulb_tester2009

View Posts
View Gallery

GoL