Author Topic: How do you go about asking people for lights on their properties?  (Read 1719 times)
108CAM

View Posts
View Gallery

Diehard MV, HPS, SOX & Preheat Fluorescent Fanatic

UCG6Xojn8dNgDuN9J7_Gnj8w
How do you go about asking people for lights on their properties? « on: February 25, 2022, 12:56:04 AM » Author: 108CAM
I'm wondering what the best way to ask about salvaging lights that look abandoned. I have never done this before and my parents are reluctant to help me because they think that going up to someone and asking them if I can have a light fixture is odd behaviour and will get me in trouble.
Here's the story of events leading up to this. A few years ago, I found an old fluorescent street light fitting in a trash pile however it was missing a part and trying to find one online would be next to impossible due to age. More recently, I went to a second hand goods store and while I was walking out after looking, I saw the part I need to complete my light fixed to a column. I really want to ask the owners if I can have the part so I can fix my light but I don't know what to say to them. I've also never asked someone for a light before and want to know the best way to do it.

Fluro starter pings combined with a 50hz ballast hum and blinking tubes is music to my ears.

Rest in Peace Electronic Lamp Manufacturers of Australia
1925-2002

Bring back the AJF Zodiacs!

Total incidents since joining LG: 17
Lamps accidently broken or smashed: 14
Ballast explosions/burnouts: 3

Rommie
Administrator

View Posts
View Gallery

Andromeda Ascendant

Re: How do you go about asking people for lights on their properties? « Reply #1 on: February 25, 2022, 10:17:41 AM » Author: Rommie