Author Topic: Inductive magnetic ballasts running at about 15% above their rated line current?  (Read 273 times)
WorldwideHIDCollectorUSA

View Posts
View Gallery

HID, LPS, and preheat fluorescents forever!!!!!!

Worldwide HIDCollectorUSA
Inductive magnetic ballasts running at about 15% above their rated line current? « on: January 12, 2024, 02:08:45 AM » Author: WorldwideHIDCollectorUSA
In my experience of importing some Japanese 100V 50Hz preheat fluorescent fixtures with HX autotransformer ballasts and series choke ballasts to try on standard North American 120V 60Hz domestic mains supplies, I have noticed that the ballasts were often running at around 15% above their rated line currents and I have experienced no ballast failures so far after I have been putting those fixtures into daily use for a few months.

Will a good quality inductive magnetic ballast with copper windings that runs at around 15% above its rated current have a high likelihood of failure if put into daily use over a short time period?

Desire to collect various light bulbs (especially HID), control gear, and fixtures from around the world.

DISCLAIMER: THE EXPERIMENTS THAT I CONDUCT INVOLVING UNUSUAL LAMP/BALLAST COMBINATIONS SHOULD NOT BE ATTEMPTED UNLESS YOU HAVE THE PROPER KNOWLEDGE. I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY INJURIES.

Medved

View Posts
View Gallery

Re: Inductive magnetic ballasts running at about 15% above their rated line current? « Reply #1 on: January 12, 2024, 03:12:11 AM » Author: Medved
Generally what dictates the reliability is mainly the operating temperature, 2'nd significance is the dielectric strength if the design was "on the border" to start with (and that is also heavily accelerated by the temperature, by the way).